BOGAN VIA

 

So, here it finally is. I’ve been dreaming for a long time about putting together a music blog. At first I thought, I can just review music and post videos of my favorite musicians. Easy enough. Not a lot work required. But then I tried to write a music review. Sadly, it’s not exactly my forte. And I also found that I was itching to get out of my house, actually meet the musicians, take their photos and film them myself. This process, although quite lengthy, more time consuming and a bit more expensive, was extremely enjoyable and satisfying. Not only do I get to do what I love, but I get to meet amazing people and explore a city I love in the process. I hope you join me in this undertaking. It’s just starting, but there will be many, many more to come. I highly encourage you to check out the bands I post and check out the locations. Every selection is very intentional.

Bogan Via, to my delight, is up first.

A few weeks ago I had the opportunity to see this extremely talented pair at The Crescent Ballroom. I immediately knew I wanted them in a video in one of my favorite spots in downtown Phoenix. And lucky for me, they were just as excited about it too. If you haven’t had the chance to see Bogan Via, I encourage you to check out their band page and find out when their next show is. Maddie and Bret were amazing to work with and I will definitely be posting another video of them in the future. Find out more info on them here: http://boganvia.bandcamp.com/ OR check out their Facebook page.

***A note on the location. This video was shot in the local bookstore and publishing company, Lawn Gnome. Lawn Gnome is a charming used bookstore located in a small house in Downtown Phoenix and owned by Aaron Johnson. Being a lover of books, writing and poetry my whole life, I was immediately drawn to this spot as soon as it opened. As you’ll see in the video, it’s an incredibly cozy space and very unique. I hope you feel drawn to it as well. You can find out more here: http://lawngnomepublishing.com/  OR check out their Facebook page.

Bogan Via

Madeleine Miller and Bret Bender perform “Maple Staple” in local bookstore and publishing company, Lawn Gnome.

4 comments

  1. a-little-blu-lyon-fish

    yes i saw them on the art walk 420 show and they were AWESOME. talked to them afterwords and man they just really got something for sure. great blog.

  2. Pingback: Song of the Day « Musical Musings of Ho
  3. Pingback: AVERY « ANY_STAGE PRODUCTIONS

Leave a Reply

